The association that organises the Brest European Short Film Festival
Facebook Twitter Instagram Vimeo
Login

Home > The Festival > Edition 2019 > Official jury

Official jury

MARIE BUNEL

ACTRESS

Marie Bunel began her career in film with L’Hôtel de la plage by Michel Lang. She then starred in Le Sang des autres directed by Claude Chabrol, who took her on again for the films Une affaire de femmes, La Fille coupée en deux and Bellamy. Nominated for the César for best Female Newcomer in 1995 for Couples et amants by John Lvoff, she acted in Misérables by Claude Lelouch and took the female lead role in Lou n’a pas dit non by Anne-Marie Miéville. This was followed by many more films, including the very successful film by Christophe Barratier, Les Choristes. She worked with Christophe Barratier again on La Nouvelle Guerre des boutons, played Guillaume Canet’s mother in Jappeloup and added the name of Bertrand Tavernier to her list of directors with Quai d’Orsay. She has also appeared in many roles on television. More recently, we have seen her in Le Daim by Quentin Dupieux and Deux Moi by Cédric Klapisch.

BENJAMIN BUSNEL

DIRECTOR

Benjamin has two sides: one bright, one dark… Comedies and strange dramas. Benjamin wrote and directed shorts, music videos, TV series and web comedy. His short films were selected and won prizes in festivals in France and abroad. In 2013 Benjamin created Inernet, a humour YouTube channel which has currently 300 000 subscribers and more than 30 millions views. Produced by StudioBagel, its first mini-series Le Département (two seasons) has been broadcast on Canal+. The Brest Festival also hosted in 2017 the live event shooting of two of their "inerviews". Working on the themes of feminism, disaster and belief, he recently directed Came the wave a short with Clotilde Hesme and Noée Abita, produced by EasyTiger. He also co-created a animated TV series for kids, Pfffirates, which will be produced by Cube Creative for TF1 in 2020.

VALÉRIE LEROY

DIRECTOR

Following a career as an actor in film and TV, Valérie Leroy graduated from the screenwriting workshop of the Femis Film School in 2013. Her first short film Le Grand Bain, presented as part of the French competition at the 31st Brest Festival, has attracted a lot of attention in France and abroad, appearing at more than 80 festivals and winning many awards. Her second short film, Laissez-moi danser, screened at the Brest Festival opening night in 2018, has had similar success, being nominated for the César for Best Short Film in 2019. Valérie has made two more short films since the start of 2019, a teen movie Teen Horses and a musical, Belle Étoile, the winning project of the Musical collection CNC / So Film / Canal+. Both films will be shown this year at the Brest Festival during the screening devoted to her work. Valérie is currently working on the screenplay of her first feature film.

MIKE PONTON

FILM MUSIC COMPOSER

Mike Ponton began studying the organ and music theory at the age of six, learning to play the electric guitar by himself at 17. In 1993 he started the band Dionysos, and after studying science and then a degree in English, he dedicated himself to music. With the band he composed 9 studio albums, earning them 3 gold records and the same number of nominations at the Victoires de la Musique. Dionysos play a mix of rock and delta blues with a real filmic edge. Mike Ponton’s music is a good example of this, displaying such diverse influences as Nirvana and Ennio Morricone, Björk and the soundtracks of films by Wes Anderson, Tarantino and David Lynch. He composed his first short film music in 2018 for Gronde Marmaille by Clémentine Carré, which was selected for the Clermont-Ferrand Festival in 2019 and was awarded at the Des notes et des toiles Festival. Mike Ponton is currently working on music for two further short films, as well as the music for a dance show and a play. After returning to the festival circuit the last summer, Dionysos will be releasing their new album in January 2020.

TATIANA VIALLE

CASTING DIRECTOR

After learning acting, Tatiana Vialle first worked in the early eighties with Yves Boisset, Alain Corneau and Jean-Michel Ribes, to name but a few. She became a casting director in 1991 and has worked on more than 60 feature films whilst still making appearances as an actor, lately in the film Aurore for Laetitia Masson. At the same time, she directs theatre productions, including Les Eaux et forêts by Marguerite Duras at the Théâtre de la Gaïté Montparnasse with Aurore Clément, Elisabeth Depardieu and Jacques Spiesser, Une Femme à Berlin at the Théâtre du Rond Point with Isabelle Carré and Swann Arlaud, Prendre le risque d’aller mieux by Bruno Nuytten with Swann Arlaud and Capucine Lespinasse, and Belle-fille, which she wrote with Maud Wyler at the Avignon Festival in 2018. She has made two short films, Du poulet in 1993 and Venerman, co-directed with Swann Arlaud in 2017, which won the Audience Award at the 33rd Brest Festival. Her first novel, Belle-fille, comes out in 2019.

Association organisatrice du Festival Européen du Film Court de Brest
Facebook Twitter Instagram Vimeo
S'identifier

Accueil > Le festival > Edition 2019 > Jury officiel

Jury officiel

MARIE BUNEL

COMÉDIENNE

Marie Bunel débute au cinéma dans L’Hôtel de la plage de Michel Lang. Elle tourne ensuite Le Sang des autres sous la direction de Claude Chabrol, qui la sollicite à nouveau pour Une affaire de femmes, La Fille coupée en deux et Bellamy. Nommée au César du Meilleur Espoir Féminin 1995 pour Couples et amants de John Lvoff, elle participe aux Misérables de Claude Lelouch et tient le premier rôle féminin de Lou n’a pas dit non d’Anne-Marie Miéville. Suivent de nombreux autres films, notamment le grand succès de Christophe Barratier : Les Choristes. Puis elle retrouve Christophe Barratier dans La Nouvelle Guerre des boutons, incarne la mère de Guillaume Canet dans Jappeloup et ajoute le nom de Bertrand Tavernier à son palmarès avec Quai d’Orsay. Elle interprète également de nombreuses fictions sur le petit écran. Plus récemment, on la découvre dans Le Daim de Quentin Dupieux et Deux Moi de Cédric Klapisch.

BENJAMIN BUSNEL

RÉALISATEUR

Benjamin a deux côtés : un lumineux, un sombre… La comédie et les drames étranges. Benjamin écrit et réalise des courts métrages, des clips musicaux et des séries pour la télévision et le web. Ses courts ont été sélectionnés et ont gagné des prix dans des festivals français et étrangers. En 2013, Benjamin a co-créé Inernet, une chaîne d’humour sur YouTube, qui comptabilise aujourd’hui plus de 300 000 abonnés et plus de 30 millions de vues. Produite par StudioBagel, sa série Le Département (2 saisons) a été diffusée sur Canal+. Le Festival de Brest a également accueilli en 2017 le tournage événementiel en direct de deux de leurs "inerviews". Travaillant sur les thèmes du féminisme, de l’effondrement et de la croyance, il a récemment réalisé Vint la Vague, un court avec Clotilde Hesme et Noée Abita, produit par EasyTiger. Il a également co-créé une série animée pour enfants, Pfffirates, produite par Cube Creative et Xylam, et dont la fabrication démarrera en 2020 pour TF1.

VALÉRIE LEROY

RÉALISATRICE

Après une carrière de comédienne au cinéma et à la télévision, Valérie Leroy sort diplômée de l’atelier scénario de La Fémis en 2013. Son premier court métrage Le Grand Bain, présenté en compétition française au 31e Festival de Brest, a eu une jolie carrière en France et à l’international avec plus de quatre-vingt festivals et une vingtaine de prix. Son deuxième court métrage Laissez-moi danser, présenté à Brest lors de la soirée d’ouverture du 33e Festival en 2018, a suivi le même parcours et a été nommé en 2019 au César du meilleur court métrage. Valérie vient de tourner début 2019 deux courts métrages, un teen movie Teen Horses et une comédie musicale Belle Étoile, projet lauréat de la collection “comédie musicale” CNC / So Film / Canal+. Tous deux seront présentés cette année à Brest lors de la séance-rencontre qui lui sera consacrée. Valérie est actuellement en écriture de son premier long métrage.

MIKE PONTON

COMPOSITEUR DE MUSIQUE DE FILM

Mike Ponton commence l’orgue et le solfège à 6 ans puis la guitare électrique à 17 ans en autodidacte. En 1993 il fonde le groupe Dionysos, et après des études scientifiques et une licence d’anglais, il se consacre uniquement à la musique. Il compose avec son groupe 9 albums studio, récompensés par 3 disques d’or et autant de nominations aux Victoires de la Musique. Dionysos est un mélange de rock, de blues du delta avec une forte dimension cinématographique. La musique de Mike Ponton en est l’exemple, autant influencée par Nirvana que par Ennio Morricone, par Björk que par les B.O. de Wes Anderson, Tarantino ou David Lynch. Il signe sa première musique de court métrage avec Gronde Marmaille de Clémentine Carrié, sélectionné au Festival de Clermont-Ferrand 2019 et récompensé au Festival Des notes et des toiles. Mike Ponton travaille actuellement sur la musique de deux autres courts métrages, ainsi que sur celle d’un spectacle de danse et d’une pièce de théâtre. Après un retour sur les plus grandes scènes des festivals l’été dernier, Dionysos sortira son nouvel album en janvier 2020.

TATIANA VIALLE

DIRECTRICE DE CASTING

Après une formation de comédienne, Tatiana Vialle travaille au début des années 80 avec entre autres Yves Boisset, Alain Corneau et Jean-Michel Ribes. Elle devient directrice de casting en 1991 et travaille sur une soixantaine de longs métrages tout en continuant à faire quelques apparitions en tant que comédienne, la dernière en date étant pour Laetitia Masson dans Aurore. Parallèlement, elle met en scène au théâtre : Les Eaux et forêts de Marguerite Duras au théâtre de la Gaïté Montparnasse avec Aurore Clément, Elisabeth Depardieu et Jacques Spiesser, Une femme à Berlin au théâtre du Rond Point avec Isabelle Carré et Swann Arlaud, Prendre le risque d’aller mieux de Bruno Nuytten avec Swann Arlaud et Capucine Lespinasse, et Belle-fille, un texte qu’elle a écrit avec Maud Wyler au festival d’Avignon 2018. Elle réalise deux courts métrages : Du poulet en 1993 et Venerman, coréalisé avec Swann Arlaud en 2017 et récompensé par le Prix du Public au 33e Festival de Brest en 2018. Son premier roman Belle-fille sort en 2019.