The association that organises the Brest European Short Film Festival
Facebook Twitter Instagram Vimeo
Login

Home > The Festival > Edition 2019 > Edito

Edito

Brest European Short Film Festival

12-17 NOVEMBER 2019

The Brest European Short Film Festival will open its 34th edition in 2019: 34 years of European films presented at the forefront of Europe, 34 years of attention, extensive research and close following of the authors, from their first works to their filmmaking career, 34 years of collaboration, exchange and active partnerships throughout Europe to find and meet the filmmakers where they are, in their countries of origin, to show the best of young European cinematographic creation, each year renewed and enriched with new styles, new tracks, different forms of narration and aesthetics, in touch with today’s Europe and its stories.

This is what the Brest Festival will offer again in 2019: take the pulse and bear witness to this Europe we are living in, by highlighting its young talents and their visions.

Download the grid
Download the programme

 OPENING NIGHT / SPECIAL SWIMMING POOL

TUESDAY 12TH NOVEMBER - 7.30PM
LE QUARTZ, GRAND THÉÂTRE

The opening night is included in the festival pass.

CLORO - Laura Plebani © Juan Sebastian Florez

Following on from a very memorable swimming-pool cinema screening at the Spadium Parc Brest in 2017, we felt like taking the plunge once again, but this time at the opening night of the Festival! And there is no lack of swimming pools in cinema! Pools in the opening or closing scenes, private and public pools, indoor and outdoor, sun-kissed or drizzly, clean or less than clean, in Italy, Sweden, Belgium or Spain. You want swimming pools in films, we’ve got them! Enough of them to present a great selection on the subject.

These short films take place either entirely in the water or around the pool, sometimes looking at jobs associated with swimming pools, such as the lifeguard, but also looking at the question of sport – swimming, with the champion of the film Laznia, free-diving, synchronised swimming and aquatic choreography in Cloro, and even diving as practiced by our giraffe friends in the film 5 mètres 80, who show off their high-flying acrobatics! When you think of the swimming pool, you also think of school and swimming lessons – everyone can remember their first time in the big pool.

After a few lengths, the swimming pool becomes a place to chill out, perhaps accompanied by a cocktail, where we bathe in an aura of happiness and relaxation. On occasion, the swimming pool also turns into a party zone where things can get out of hand, a place of freedom where flirting, seduction and watery embraces take place alongside each other.

To end our panorama, there is a change of tone with a look at the dangerous side of the swimming pool, from which film and theatre has sourced many memorable nail-biting scenes, with mad gunmen, fights, terrifying aquatic monsters and swimming in troubled waters.

So, shall we dive in?

Association organisatrice du Festival Européen du Film Court de Brest
Facebook Twitter Instagram Vimeo
S'identifier

Accueil > Le festival > Edition 2019 > Édito

Édito

34e Festival Européen du Film Court de Brest

DU 12 AU 17 NOVEMBRE 2019

Le Festival Européen du Film Court de Brest ouvrira en 2019 sa 34e édition : 34 années de films européens présentés à la pointe de l’Europe, 34 années de vigilance, de recherches poussées, de suivi attentif des auteurs, de leurs premières œuvres à leurs parcours de cinéma, 34 années de collaborations, d’échanges et de partenariats actifs à travers l’Europe entière pour aller chercher et rencontrer les réalisateurs où ils se trouvent, dans leurs pays d’origine, pour donner à voir le meilleur de la jeune création cinématographique, chaque année renouvelée et enrichie de nouveaux styles, de nouvelles pistes, de formes de narration et esthétiques différentes, en prise avec l’Europe d’aujourd’hui et les histoires qui s’y passent.

C’est ce que proposera, une nouvelle fois en 2019, le Festival de Brest : prendre le pouls et rendre compte de cette Europe dans laquelle nous vivons, par la mise en valeur de ses jeunes talents et de leurs regards portés sur elle.

VOIR LA PROGRAMMATION EN LIGNE

Téléchargez la grille
Téléchargez le programme

 SOIRÉE D'OUVERTURE SPÉCIALE PISCINE !

MARDI 12 NOVEMBRE À 19H30
GRAND THÉÂTRE DU QUARTZ
Durée : 3h30 avec entracte
Tarif unique : 10 €

La soirée d’ouverture est incluse dans le pass festival.

CLORO - Laura Plebani © Juan Sebastian Florez

Après un ciné piscine mémorable au Spadium Parc de Brest en 2017, nous avons eu envie de repiquer une tête dans la piscine ; mais cette fois, en soirée d’ouverture du Festival ! Car les piscines au cinéma, décidément il y en a ! Des piscines qui ouvrent ou clôturent un film, des piscines ensoleillées ou pluvieuses, privées ou publiques, en extérieur ou en intérieur, des piscines d’hier ou de demain, propres ou moins propres, vides ou désaffectées, en Italie, au Danemark, en Belgique ou en Islande. Bref, des piscines au cinéma, en veux-tu en voilà ! De quoi vous présenter une belle sélection de films sur la question.

Les courts métrages proposés se déroulent en effet quasi entièrement dans l’eau ou autour d’un bassin. Ils évoquent parfois les professions liées à la piscine, comme maître-nageur, mais aussi le sport : la natation avec le champion du film Laznia, l’apnée, la natation synchronisée et les chorégraphies aquatiques dans Cloro, ou encore le plongeon cher à nos amies girafes de 5 mètres 80 qui raffolent des figures acrobatiques de haut vol ! Qui dit piscine dit aussi école et cours de natation : qui ne se souvient pas de ses premières brasses dans le grand bain ?

Enfin, après quelques longueurs, la piscine est le moment du farniente et de la décompression, petit cocktail en prime, on nage dans le bonheur et on se la coule douce. Parfois la piscine se transforme aussi en lieu de fêtes fastueuses ou de soirées qui dégénèrent, de squat nocturne en toute liberté où se mêlent rencontre et séduction, rapprochements et baisers aquatiques.

Changeons de registre et terminons ce tour d’horizon par les nombreux dangers que l’on peut rencontrer dans une piscine, lieu également anxiogène au cinéma et théâtre de nombreuses scènes marquantes, avec parfois des tireurs fous, des bagarres, des monstres aquatiques terrifiants et des nages en eaux troubles.

Alors, on se jette à l’eau ?