The association that organises the Brest European Short Film Festival
Facebook Twitter Instagram Vimeo
Login

Home > The Festival > Édition 2020 > Edito

Edito

Brest European Short Film Festival

10-15 NOVEMBER 2020

The Brest European Short Film Festival will open its 35th edition in 2020: 35 years of European films presented at the forefront of Europe, 35 years of attention, extensive research and close following of the authors, from their first works to their filmmaking career, 35 years of collaboration, exchange and active partnerships throughout Europe to find and meet the filmmakers where they are, in their countries of origin, to show the best of young European cinematographic creation, each year renewed and enriched with new styles, new tracks, different forms of narration and aesthetics, in touch with today’s Europe and its stories.

This is what the Brest Festival will offer again in 2020: take the pulse and bear witness to this Europe we are living in, by highlighting its young talents and their visions.

SEE THE FULL LINE-UP

The programme grid
Download the programme

 OPENING NIGHT / SPECIAL MUSICAL COMEDY

TUESDAY 10TH NOVEMBER - 7.30PM
LE QUARTZ, GRAND THÉÂTRE
The opening night is included in the festival pass.

In cinema, musicals are the sum of all the arts brought together on the screen, so what better way to celebrate the limitless creative potential of film, than by showing a compendium of the best short-film musicals, declaring the opening of the 35th Festival with an all-singing, all-dancing celebration?

You may be caught by surprise by the mix of genres in the first half of the show. Far from sticking to one particular artistic world, these filmakers pass from teen movie to social drama via satire with no problem at all. Comedic, absurdist or realist, the films convey emotions that are as varied as they are flamboyant, and will take you places you will never forget!

Get your dancing shoes on for a surprise interval event, and then it’s back to the Grand Théâtre for the second half of the show with a taste of something for everyone, from rock and hip-hop to classic and electronic music, making for a toe-tapping evening of short film that will bring a little magic back into our lives.

And because we know your thirst won’t be satisfied, you will find more musicals popped into the various programmes at the festival throughout the week, so you’ll be singing all the way, either in the rain or sheltered in the theatres... Let’s dance!

Association organisatrice du Festival Européen du Film Court de Brest
Facebook Twitter Instagram Vimeo

Accueil > Le festival > Édition 2020 > Édito

Édito

35e Festival Européen du Film Court de Brest

DU 10 AU 15 NOVEMBRE 2020

Le Festival Européen du Film Court de Brest ouvrira en 2020 sa 35e édition : 35 années de films européens présentés à la pointe de l’Europe, 35 années de vigilance, de recherches poussées, de suivi attentif des auteurs, de leurs premières œuvres à leurs parcours de cinéma, 35 années de collaborations, d’échanges et de partenariats actifs à travers l’Europe entière pour aller chercher et rencontrer les réalisateurs où ils se trouvent, dans leurs pays d’origine, pour donner à voir le meilleur de la jeune création cinématographique, chaque année renouvelée et enrichie de nouveaux styles, de nouvelles pistes, de formes de narration et esthétiques différentes, en prise avec l’Europe d’aujourd’hui et les histoires qui s’y passent.

C’est ce que proposera, une nouvelle fois en 2020, le Festival de Brest : prendre le pouls et rendre compte de cette Europe dans laquelle nous vivons, par la mise en valeur de ses jeunes talents et de leurs regards portés sur elle.

VOIR LA PROGRAMMATION EN LIGNE

Téléchargez la grille
Téléchargez le programme

 SOIRÉE D'OUVERTURE SPÉCIALE COMÉDIE MUSICALE !

MARDI 10 NOVEMBRE À 19H30
LE QUARTZ, GRAND THÉÂTRE
Durée : 3h30 avec entracte
Tarif unique : 12 €

La soirée d’ouverture est incluse dans le pass festival.

Au cinéma, la comédie musicale incarne l’art le plus total, celui qui fait la synthèse de tous les autres. Réunir un florilège de courts métrages musicaux nous a donc semblé une belle manière de célébrer le cinéma et sa créativité sans limites. Quoi de plus festif et enchanteur qu’une soirée d’ouverture sous le signe de la danse et de la musique ? C’est donc tambours battants que nous ouvrons cette 35e édition, au rythme des films et de l’imagination des cinéastes.

La première partie vous surprendra par le mélange des genres... Loin de se cantonner à un seul univers, les réalisateurs passent sans peine du teen movie au drame social, en passant par la comédie satirique. Drôles, absurdes ou réalistes, les films portent haut et fort des émotions aussi variées que flamboyantes, et vous proposent un voyage que vous n’êtes pas prêts d’oublier !

Préparez ensuite vos plus beaux pas de danse pour un entracte surprise... Et rendez vous de nouveau au Grand Théâtre pour une seconde partie aux sonorités rock, hip hop, classiques et même électroniques... Pas d’excuses : il y en aura pour tous les goûts ! Deux séances de cinéma au rythme effréné, où les courts métrages mènent la danse, pour mieux ré-enchanter notre quotidien.

On vous promet une soirée aussi magique qu’éclectique... Et puisqu’on sait que vous en redemanderez, vous pourrez retrouver d’autres comédies musicales, glissées dans les différents programmes du festival, pour chanter tout au long de la semaine, sous la pluie ou à l’abri des salles obscures… Let’s dance !